With over 350 entries from writers in 26 different countries to consider, the shortlist for the Caledonia Novel Award 2018 has now been selected, representing the very best of many high-calibre submissions in a range of genres.

The judging process is completely anonymous, so we will reveal the names of the shortlisted authors when the final winner is announced on February 14th.

So without further ado this year’s longlisted titles, as chosen by Madeleine, are:

Angel Derby

Dark Barn

Four Degrees

The Doll Factory

The Fate of a Golden Boy

The Revision of Eleanor Reddy

The winner will be announced on February 14th and will receive £1,000 and a trophy specially designed by Edinburgh artist Astrid Jaekela.  The best novel from the British Isles and Ireland will also receive a free place on a writing course at Moniack Mhor Creative Writing Centre.

Huge congratulations to our shortlistees, and many thanks to everyone who entered the competition.